Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Windows 10 and Dead State  (Read 9457 times)
DrunkZombie
Moderator
*
Posts: 2716


You gotta live before you die!


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2016, 08:04:54 am »

Is your graphics driver up to date?  If so, post your system specs and the console.log in Documents/My Games/Dead State.
Logged

Playing DS on my laptop.
8 gb ram
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.130828-1532)
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250M
Driver Version: 9.18.13.3489, DirectX version: 11.0, Display Memory: 2729 MB
Realtek High Definition Audio, Driver 6.00.0001.5951
Game Settings: Resolution: 1024 x 768, Refresh 60, Fullscreen On, Anti-aliasing Off, Mesh High, Texture High, Shader High, Lighting High
Direct sound, Speakers (Realtek)
CavScout81
Neophyte

Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2016, 01:14:46 pm »

My graphics driver is the most current version, 365.10

System specs:
i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Nvidia GeForce GTX 980M
Windows 10 x64 (fully patched)
16 GB of RAM

Thank you very much.

[attachment deleted by admin to save space]
Logged
DrunkZombie
Moderator
*
Posts: 2716


You gotta live before you die!


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2016, 03:39:33 pm »

From the console.log it appears that it isn't a problem with the vid card, it appears to be getting past that ok.  It almost looks like a sound problem, I've never seen that "Test: Music stop." before.  I'll try to contact Nick, the head programmer, to see if he has any insight.  In the meantime, see if you can update your sound driver.

Also have you tried using the experimental build in normal mode, not compatibility mode?
« Last Edit: May 10, 2016, 03:43:34 pm by DrunkZombie » Logged

Playing DS on my laptop.
8 gb ram
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.130828-1532)
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250M
Driver Version: 9.18.13.3489, DirectX version: 11.0, Display Memory: 2729 MB
Realtek High Definition Audio, Driver 6.00.0001.5951
Game Settings: Resolution: 1024 x 768, Refresh 60, Fullscreen On, Anti-aliasing Off, Mesh High, Texture High, Shader High, Lighting High
Direct sound, Speakers (Realtek)
Nick
Administrator

Posts: 2182


En Taro Adun!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2016, 05:48:57 pm »

Test: Music stop is normal. I don't rule out sound driver problem completely, but there is not evidence that's it.

First of all, please switch back to the test build like DrunkZombie previously suggested. It fixes Torque's (our engine's) inherited startup bug that happens to some people and has other improvements, so it's preferable to use. I'd make it a main build, but this decision is not up to me - I don't work for DoubleBear for about a year now.

What is your native desktop resolution? Also, can you modify prefs.cs file so it has only this line?

$pref::Video::mode = "1024 768 false 32 60 0";

Note the "false" in it, it says to start a game in a window, while according to log, you're trying to run it fullscreen.
Logged

"Oh, 'twould be marvelous if the world and its moral questions were like some game board, with plain black players and white, and fixed rules, and nary a shade of grey."
The Black Company. Shadows Linger.

"But is the best good enough?"
(c) Oscar
CavScout81
Neophyte

Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: May 13, 2016, 01:44:34 pm »

I changed the prefs.cs to what you said then started the game, got the gray square, and got up for a moment. When I came back the game had loaded to the start screen. I changed my graphics setting, quit, and started it again. After waiting at the gray screen, the Double Bear and Iron Tower splash screens came up and it loaded to the menu. I uninstalled, deleted the Dead State folder from My Documents, reinstalled, and the game runs even without changing the prefs.cs. I'm using the last release version, not the beta version, by the way.

I don't know what kind of magic wand you all waved but the game works. If only other companies could offer this high level of support!

Thank you very much!
Logged
DrunkZombie
Moderator
*
Posts: 2716


You gotta live before you die!


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: May 17, 2016, 09:19:09 am »

Glad you got the game working.  Enjoy!
Logged

Playing DS on my laptop.
8 gb ram
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.130828-1532)
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250M
Driver Version: 9.18.13.3489, DirectX version: 11.0, Display Memory: 2729 MB
Realtek High Definition Audio, Driver 6.00.0001.5951
Game Settings: Resolution: 1024 x 768, Refresh 60, Fullscreen On, Anti-aliasing Off, Mesh High, Texture High, Shader High, Lighting High
Direct sound, Speakers (Realtek)
ke9do
Neophyte

Posts: 2



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: May 12, 2019, 12:53:28 pm »

Я решил эту проблему. Здесь смотрите http://www.irontowerstudio.com/forum/index.php/topic,7552.msg155742.html#msg155742
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
Print
Jump to: